Adobe Lightroom Windows Beta 1 for download!

Have your say on issues related to using a DSLR camera.

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
Please ensure that you have a meaningful location included in your profile. Please refer to the FAQ for details of what "meaningful" is.

Adobe Lightroom Windows Beta 1 for download!

Postby robster on Wed Jul 19, 2006 3:28 pm

For us windows worlders, the beta 1 is available.

I got an email that supplied this link:

http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/lightroom/?trackingid=IFQT

Not sure what the trackingid is on the end of that link, maybe my email account or similar.

Oh well, have a play :)


Rob
User avatar
robster
Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 10:58 pm
Location: Pomona, Sunshine Coast, QLD (Canon EOS30D)

Postby Murray1006 on Wed Jul 19, 2006 3:34 pm

You beat me to it. I also just received the e-mail announcement. I'll down load it and have a play tonight. I'll let you know what I think tomorrow.
Regards,
Murray
___________________________________
User avatar
Murray1006
Member
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 3:08 pm
Location: Warriewood, Sydney - Canon 30D

Postby pharmer on Wed Jul 19, 2006 4:01 pm

I've been using it on the Mac since beta 1 (now beta 3) - great for cataloging and general edits

Will look at the Windows version now at work :)
pharmer
Member
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 11:21 pm
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand

Postby NikonUser on Wed Jul 19, 2006 4:12 pm

Since no amount of trying will get Capture NX to work for me I'll give this a go...

Downloading now :)

Paul
http://www.australiandigitalphotography.com

Living in poverty due to my addiction to NIKON... Is there a clinic that can help me?
User avatar
NikonUser
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 6:18 pm
Location: Canberra - **D2X**

Postby NikonUser on Wed Jul 19, 2006 4:34 pm

After playing for a few mins I think it's quite nice. :-)

A step up from ACR.

Paul
http://www.australiandigitalphotography.com

Living in poverty due to my addiction to NIKON... Is there a clinic that can help me?
User avatar
NikonUser
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 6:18 pm
Location: Canberra - **D2X**

Postby Zeeke on Wed Jul 19, 2006 5:07 pm

I'm in love

This program is friggen awesome!

Tim
D70 - D200/MBD200 Coming soon - Too Much Gear, Not Enough Talent

My Site: http://www.digitalstill.net
My Fishing Site: http://www.fishseq.com
User avatar
Zeeke
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1318
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 8:38 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast, Qld, AU

Postby NikonUser on Wed Jul 19, 2006 5:09 pm

Very slow on my machine though (3500+, 3Gb ram). I'm sure it's because it' a beta.
http://www.australiandigitalphotography.com

Living in poverty due to my addiction to NIKON... Is there a clinic that can help me?
User avatar
NikonUser
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 6:18 pm
Location: Canberra - **D2X**

Postby Laurie on Wed Jul 19, 2006 5:09 pm

i will have to give this a look in. i use the mac version and have been since beta 1.

seems a very neat program.
obviously it wont have the same visual effects that the mac can afford, but maybe on my work PC it will be a little smoother

\\EDIT: Windows XP SP2 needed for install

FRICK :(
User avatar
Laurie
Senior Member
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: Mortdale.Sydney/NSW.AU

Postby robster on Wed Jul 19, 2006 5:52 pm

NikonUser wrote:Very slow on my machine though (3500+, 3Gb ram). I'm sure it's because it' a beta.


It's an absolute pig on mine. I only have 1Gig, but a fair HD and processor etc. It must be a beta thing. In terms of what it's doing during these slow moments, something like picasa is diong 10x the work at 50x the speed :)

Looking forward to a usable beta....

Rob
User avatar
robster
Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 10:58 pm
Location: Pomona, Sunshine Coast, QLD (Canon EOS30D)

Postby stubbsy on Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:42 pm

Just Dl'd itmyself, yet to try, but I notice on the site they make specific mention of not being fine tuned for performance on Windoze yet.

We have not reached our performance goals on Windows and continue to work on improving speed in all aspects of the application.


Edit: Well I told it to import 230 images (approx 10Mb each). That was at 6:45. It just finished processing those images at 7:20 so that's 35 minutes to do the 230 images. During that time my processor was being hammered (between 45 and 65%) and I did NOTHING else. Nothing else was running either. I have a Pentium 4, 3.4Ghz and 2Gb of RAM. Not a slow machine and it performed like a dog. No wonder they have caveat about speed!
Peter
Disclaimer: I know nothing about anything.
*** smugmug galleries: http://www.stubbsy.smugmug.com ***
User avatar
stubbsy
Moderator
 
Posts: 10748
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 7:44 pm
Location: Newcastle NSW - D700

Postby rmp on Wed Jul 19, 2006 11:39 pm

As an ex-user of RawShooter Premium it's freeeee to me when it ships!

Sounds like it's worth having a look now though.

Good thing I'm about to order a P3.4 with 4Gb RAM.
rmp
Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 8:29 pm
Location: Western side of Melbourne

Postby nito on Thu Jul 20, 2006 9:15 pm

It is not responsive and I am suprised to say it, but less user friendly than NX.
nito
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1109
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 11:24 am
Location: Gladesville, NSW

Postby Nnnnsic on Thu Jul 20, 2006 9:31 pm

I've felt its like a cross between Bridge and Aperture.
Producer & Editor @ GadgetGuy.com.au
Contributor for fine magazines such as PC Authority and Popular Science.
User avatar
Nnnnsic
I'm a jazz singer... so I know what I'm doing
 
Posts: 7770
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 12:29 am
Location: Cubicle No. 42... somewhere in Bondi, NSW

Postby Justin on Thu Jul 20, 2006 9:36 pm

It's running ok on mine - 2000 pics in about 1/2 hour, I have a 4yo P2.4Ghz and a gig of RAM - but my library is on a seperate, newer hard dis - I also chose the 'reference original' in the import options.
D3 | 18-200VR | 50:1.4 | 28:2.8 | 35-70 2.8 | 12-24 f4
picasaweb.google.com/JustinPhotoGallery
"We don't know and we don't care"
User avatar
Justin
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1089
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 9:32 pm
Location: Newtown, Sydeny

Postby Murray1006 on Sat Jul 22, 2006 7:12 pm

I like it and think it has a lot of potential. It has a lot of functions that I've only glanced at so far, but certainly will be able to do more than Raw Shooter. It will take some learning though. It's very slow to the point of being painful, so I'll stick with Raw Shooter for now.

I converted the same picture in RSP and Lightroom for a comparison. It doesn't really prove anything, but the results were interesting none the less. I opened the same picture in both programs and applied an auto white balance and converted to TIFF. No other changes were made in the converters. I then opened them in PSPX and cropped and resized for posting.

Judge for yourself but on my monitor Lightroom produced the better result. I'm sure I could have gotten a similar result from RSP with a bit of tinkering though.

Lightroom.
Image

RSP.
Image

So I haven’t really proved anything and it will take a lot more conversions before I can say which is better. I think I'll be more than happy with the results from Lightroom though, and will happily start using it when they’ve got the release version up and running.
Regards,
Murray
___________________________________
User avatar
Murray1006
Member
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 3:08 pm
Location: Warriewood, Sydney - Canon 30D

Postby Dargan on Sat Jul 22, 2006 10:48 pm

Have any of you who have tried this compared it with Dxo output?
In the end we know Nothing, but in the meantime Learn like crazy.
Your Camera Does Matter Nikon D70 D200 D300
PPOK
User avatar
Dargan
Senior Member
 
Posts: 702
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 11:22 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast

Postby firsty on Sat Jul 22, 2006 11:58 pm

Murray1006 wrote:Judge for yourself but on my monitor lightroom produced the better result. I'm sure I could have gotten a similar result from RSP with a bit of tinkering though.


On my monitor the RSP shot looks better as the lightroom edit seems to have a red cast to it eg. skin tones are too red and tiger has gone past orange where as the RSP edit looks more natural
User avatar
firsty
Senior Member
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:34 am
Location: Baulkham Hills Sydney - D200

Postby stubbsy on Sun Jul 23, 2006 12:11 am

Hmmm. I was thinking just the same thing about the Lightroom bein a bit warm Keith.

I'm about to download the PhotoDisc Target jpeg to test from HERE and compare auto in lightroom and auto in DxO paying particular attention to skin tones.
Peter
Disclaimer: I know nothing about anything.
*** smugmug galleries: http://www.stubbsy.smugmug.com ***
User avatar
stubbsy
Moderator
 
Posts: 10748
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 7:44 pm
Location: Newcastle NSW - D700

Postby Murray1006 on Sun Jul 23, 2006 12:53 am

firsty wrote:
Murray1006 wrote:Judge for yourself but on my monitor lightroom produced the better result. I'm sure I could have gotten a similar result from RSP with a bit of tinkering though.


On my monitor the RSP shot looks better as the lightroom edit seems to have a red cast to it eg. skin tones are too red and tiger has gone past orange where as the RSP edit looks more natural


I agree that Lightroom isn't perfect but it's pretty close. I think RSP has a bit of a green cast to it. To my eye Lightroom is closer to the mark and to the shot I remember taking. She was wearing a pink and white top which I am currently holding, and the colours from lightroom are spot on for it. RSP hasn't got the pink right. The edge of the cupboard is red, RSP makes it look at little orange and the floor boards I'm looking at right now look too yellow. I'm not looking at a calibrated monitor, but what I see is very close to the actual colours.
Thanks for your feedback firsty. I'd be interested to hear what others think, because if the general consensus is that RSP is the better conversion, I'm going to get my monitor calibrated.
Regards,
Murray
___________________________________
User avatar
Murray1006
Member
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 3:08 pm
Location: Warriewood, Sydney - Canon 30D

Postby stubbsy on Sun Jul 23, 2006 12:56 am

Murray

If you haven't done so before, don't wait - get your monitor calibrated.
Peter
Disclaimer: I know nothing about anything.
*** smugmug galleries: http://www.stubbsy.smugmug.com ***
User avatar
stubbsy
Moderator
 
Posts: 10748
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 7:44 pm
Location: Newcastle NSW - D700


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron